Acoustic powerfolk trio

Watching the Belgian band Snaarmaarwaar is always a happy surprise. A trio stands in front of you but the stunning wall of sound coming from their acoustic instruments instead bears the impression of an explosive sextet. In a world full of cloned concepts and tired formats, Snaarmaarwaar write their own story, polishing their unique style day after day.

They take both listeners and dancers on an adventure full of tight grooves and warm melodies. Old traditional tunes and newly composed pieces sit alongside one another, both lively and introverted, tender and rocking. As always, Jeroen Geerinck is the beating heart and pumping turbo engine of the band, paving the way for mandola man Maarten Decombel and mandolinist Ward Dhoore. Their interplay is tight, their music direct and they present a highly original vision of the ancient folk tunes hailing from the mud of Flanders.

To date, the trio have released 3 albums and have played on stages all across Europe and beyond: Nanjing Jazz and World Festival (China), Festival des Luthiers et Maîtres Sonneurs (F), TFF Rudolstadt (D), Kaustinen Folk Music Festival (FIN), Mandopolis (F), Viljandi Folk Music Festival (EE), Sunrise Celebration (UK)… This is Flemish folk, anno 2016, alive and kicking, standing tall in the world of today. A true discovery!


Snaarmaarwaar is

Maarten Decombel

Mandola

Ward Dhoore

Mandolin

Jeroen Geerinck

Guitar


What they tell about us

Brilliant playing & keen inventiveness!

The Living Tradition

They are a band that have put considerable thought into their very exciting sound!

fRoots Magazine

Boucing riffs, played with a fierce energy. A splendid imaginative recording.

Dirty Linen

Trio Acoustique Powerfolk

Le groupe belge Snaarmaarwaar, c’est de la musique folk musclée. Vous voyez un trio mais avez l'impression d'entendre au moins un sextet explosé, dont les instruments acoustiques créent sans aucune peine un mur de son impressionant. Dans un monde plein de formats et concepts copiés partout, ils font le choix radical de développer leur son unique à eux.

En concert, ils se lancent dans un voyage aventureux , dans lequel ils jonglent avec plein de styles, plein de genres et de mélodies. Nouvelles compositions et vieux morceaux trad vont l’un à côté l’autre, tendre et festif, introverte et explosif. Le coeur battant du groupe, c’est Jeroen Geerinck qui, avec son jeu de guitare énergique, ouvre la voie pour la mandole de Maarten Decombel et la mandoline de Ward Dhoore. Leur jeu d’ensemble est hypercompact, leur musique à point et leur regard contemporain.

Jusqu’aujourd’hui le trio a sortie 3 disques et ils ont joué sur des podiums partout en Europe et dehors: Nanjing Jazz and World Festival (Chine), Festival des Luthiers et Maîtres Sonneurs (F), Rudolstadt (Allemagne), Kaustinen Folkfestival (Fin), Mandopolis (F), Viljandi Folkfestival (Est), Sunrise Celebration (GB),…. Ils jouent du folk flamand d’aujourd’hui: un genre bien vivant, ancré dans le monde actuel. Une vraie découverte!


Snaarmaarwaar

Maarten Decombel

Mandole

Ward Dhoore

Mandoline

Jeroen Geerinck

Guitare


Ce qu'ils disent de nous

Incroyable, la qualité musicale et l’énergie que dégage ce groupe de cordes, sidérant tous ceux qui ont eu la chance de les voir sur scène!

Trad Magazine

Très vivifiant et chalureux, parfois rêveur, un grand bravo!

Le Canard Folk